Home Sports National selectors could be given a three-year term | Cricket News

National selectors could be given a three-year term | Cricket News


MUMBAI: While the new dispensation at the BCCI has decided to scale back the tenure of national selectors from five years to four, the reduction in term is likely to apply to only the present bunch of selectors.

Going forward, the BCCI is contemplating a further scaling down of the term for national selectors from four years to three. The existing constitution, which was drafted and registered when the Committee of Administrators were in office, had extended the term of the national selectors from four to five years and, for now, the new dispensation in the Board is just going back to how things were until four years ago.

However, when the new selectors get appointed, president Sourav Ganguly is of the firm view that “even four years is long”. Ganguly told TOI “the four-year term was designed keeping in mind the ICC World Cup cycle. But that’s a thing of the past now. A three-year stint can be introduced to keep things fresh and in perspective”.

The present scaling back of the term from five years to four will only see the exit of chief selector MSK Prasad and Gagan Khoda, his colleague from the central zone.

The remaining three selectors – Jatin Paranjpe (west), Sarandeep Singh (north) and Devang Gandhi (east) – will continue for another year.

While Prasad and Khoda had come aboard the national selection committee in 2015; Paranjpe, Singh and Gandhi joined them only in 2016. The latter will get to complete their term and Prasad will make way for a new chief selector.

There’s no word yet on who will be brought as Prasad’s replacement yet but leg-spinner Laxman Sivaramanakrishnan has put his hand up for the job and with Prasad’s exit, the BCCI will have to appoint a selector from the south zone.

“Dilip (Vengsarkar) is keen too. He had not completed his term the last time around. But, if Paranjpe is set to continue for another year then one will have to wait and see. Let’s see what Sourav and Jay have in mind,” say those tracking developments.

Clause 27A(i) of the BCCI constitution says: ‘The All India senior selection committee shall consist of five persons (…), one from each zone’.

There’s no word yet on who will replace Khoda from the central zone even as the name of Gyanendra Pandey, from Uttar Pradesh, is doing the rounds.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here